The website is under renovation. Temporary interruptions are possible. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Delegation of Rostechnadzor took part in MDEP Policy Group meeting


19.09.2019 A delegation of Rostechnadzor led by Deputy Chairman Alexey Ferapontov took part in the Multinational Design Evaluation Programme (MDEP) Policy Group meeting held in Vienna on 19 September 2019.
The members discussed the last year’s work results and the further development strategy for MDEP.
As a result of the discussion, the Design Specific Working Groups (DSWGs) closure report template was approved, and also was approved the first of such reports from the ABWR reactors working group.
In addition, members of the MDEP Policy Group agreed with the continuation of the APR1400 reactor working group with only two active members: the Republic of Korea and the UAE, since the third member, the United States, had already completed the design certification and rulemaking.
During the discussion it was noted that only two out of six MDEP DSWGs (for VVER and HPR1000 reactors) have ongoing projects and should still be active by 2022. With this in mind, the meeting participants also held discussions on possible activities in other areas, such as supporting embarking countries, SMRs safety regulation, operating experience, exchange of information and harmonization on design-specific issues, etc.
Another significant result of the meeting was a MDEP Policy Group decision to hold the 5th MDEP Conference in October 2020 in China (Hangzhou City).

Rostechnadzor aside, the MDEP members are the regulatory bodies from Argentina, Canada, China, Finland, France, Hungary, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, South Africa, Sweden, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States. The functions of the Technical Secretariat are invested with the Nuclear Energy Agency of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (NEA/OECD)

Back to the list