The website is under renovation. Temporary interruptions are possible. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Rostechnadzor participates in the 59th IAEA General Conference


The 59th IAEA General Conference (GC) opened on September 14, 2015, in Vienna, Austria. The delegation of the Russian Federation at the GC is headed by Sergei Kirienko, Director General of the State Corporation Rosatom. Alexey Ferapontov, Deputy Chairman of Federal Environmental, Industrial and Nuclear Supervision Service, acts as deputy head of the Russian delegation.

During the GC opening plenary session, Yukiya Amano, IAEA Director General, acknowledged the effort of Member States put forth to expand international cooperation in the field of peaceful uses of atomic energy, enhance the non-proliferation regime and improve international mechanisms for prevention of nuclear terrorism.

On GC Day 1, the Rostechnadzor Deputy Chairman took part in the meetings the Russian delegation head with DG Amano, Dr. Khaled Toukan, Chairman of the Jordan Atomic Energy Commission, Vladimir Shkolnik, Minister of Energy of Kazakhstan, Dr. Ernest Moniz, US Secretary of Energy, and William Magwood, Director General of the Nuclear Energy Agency of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD NEA).

Also, Deputy Chairman Ferapontov met with Vuong Huu Tan, Director General of the Vietnam Agency for Radiation and Nuclear Safety (VARANS). The Rostechnadzor representatives also took part in the meeting.

On September 15th, on the margins of the IAEA GC, the Rostechnadzor had bilateral meetings and discussions with the senior regulators of France and Indonesia where intermediate outcome and prospective areas of cooperation were discussed.

The Rostechnadzor representatives also took part in the meetings of the Russian delegation with Tina Joemat-Pettersson, Minister of Energy of South Africa, and Dr. Hashim Abdullah Yamani, President of King Abdullah City for Atomic & Renewable Energy, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

As the IAEA GC continues its work, the Rostechnadzor delegation is planning to meet with Denis Flory, IAEA Deputy Director General, and Gyula Fichtinger, Director General of the Hungarian Atomic Energy Authority.

Back to the list