The website is under renovation. Temporary interruptions are possible. Sorry for the inconvenience.

State Secretary - Deputy Chairman of Rostechnadzor Alexey Ferapontov appointed as a member of the IAEA Commission on Safety Standards (CSS)


On September 8, 2014, the IAEA Director General Yukiya Amano appointed Alexey Ferapontov, State Secretary - Deputy Chairman of Rostechnadzor, as a member of the IAEA Commission on Safety Standards (CSS) due to Valery Bezzubtsev, Deputy Chairman of Rostechnadzor, who formerly represented Russia in the CSS, transferred to other job.

The next meeting of the Committee on Safety Standards is to take place in Vienna on 3-5 November 2014.

The Commission on Safety Standards (CSS) is a standing body of senior government officials holding national responsibilities for establishing standards and other regulatory documents relevant to nuclear, radiation transport and waste safety.

The IAEA Director General appoints the members for a term of four years upon IAEA Member-States’ submission of candidates.

The core functions of the CSS are: to provide guidance on the approach and strategy for establishing the Agency’s safety standards; to endorse, in accordance with the Agency’s preparation and review process for safety standards, the texts of Safety Fundamentals and Safety Requirements to be submitted to the IAEA Board of Governors.

The CSS meetings are conducted biannually on the regular basis.

Back to the list