The website is under renovation. Temporary interruptions are possible. Sorry for the inconvenience.

The Nuclear Energy Agency under the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

On March 21, 2007, the Joint Declaration on Cooperation between the Government of the Russian Federation and the Nuclear Energy Agency of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (NEA/OECD) in the Field of Peaceful Uses of Nuclear Energy was signed. Since then, Russia participated in NEA/OECD activity as an observer.

On January 1, 2013, Russia has officially become a full member of the NEA/OECD.

Federal Environmental, Industrial and Nuclear Supervision Service represents Russia in the Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities (CNRA), while the State Corporation “Rosatom” participates in activities of other committees.

Specialists of Rostechnadzor are also involved in the activity of the following CNRA working groups:

Working Group on Operating Experience (WGOE)

Working Group on the Regulation of New Reactors (WGRNR)

Working Group on Inspection Practices (WGIP)

Senior Level Task Group on Defense in Depth (STG-DID)

Senior Level Task Group on the Safety Culture of the Regulatory Body (STG-SCRB)

Ad-Hoc Group - Generation IV, a special group of the CNRA and the Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations (CSNI) that addresses issues of safety regulation of fourth-generation reactor designs.

Apart from CNRA activities, Rostechnadzor also is a member to the Radioactive Waste Management Committee (RWMC) Regulators' Forum.

With a view to improving the performance, Rostechnadzor actively considers and applies NEA/OECD products and outputs. Many documents developed by the CNRA have been translated into Russian. Rostechnadzor specialists incorporated them into safety-related regulatory documents in the field of atomic energy use.

NEA/OECD also serves as the Technical Secretariat of the Multinational Design Evaluation Programme, to which Rostechnadzor is a member.